Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

06 T&C Steering whine/moan

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2010, 09:34 PM
Default 06 T&C Steering whine/moan

Newbie here so please bear with me! I have a 2006 T&C with 38,000 miles and it whines and moans all the time. Totally annoying, especially in the winter here in Michigan. I've read up on the possibility of needing to replace the power steering reservoir but I don't want to start and replace something if I'm in the wrong area entirely. My symptoms are:
1) Whining / moaning coming from engine right from start up. Continues and does not go away.
2) Power steering not affected at all but with turning the wheel while in drive or parked the noise increases. Also, just increasing the idle by hitting the gas will increase the noise.
3) Where is the power steering reservoir? Is this the source of the noise because my noise appears to be coming from the pulley side of the engine.
4) Had the problem for at least a year and if it was major, I think something would have gotten worse, i.e., power steering getting harder or pulley falling off.

Greatly appreciate any input or similar experiences you may have had and how you resolved it!!

Old 02-02-2010, 10:58 PM
Super Moderator

on the power steering reservoir there will be 2 lines fill it up with ATF +4 fluid 1/4 inch above the full line.

Old 02-03-2010, 05:59 AM

Newbie here so please bear with me! I have a 2006 T&C with 38,000 miles and it whines and moans all the time. Totally annoying, especially in the winter here in Michigan. I've read up on the possibility of needing to replace the power steering reservoir but I don't want to start and replace something if I'm in the wrong area entirely. My symptoms are:
1) Whining / moaning coming from engine right from start up. Continues and does not go away. EVER? even when it warms up?